Solano Community College Library: Embedding SCC Library Resources (for Faculty): Linking ebooks &amp; articles

Linking to Articles

Persistent links are the key to embedding library content into Canvas. Each database handles persistent links a little differently. See the next tab on this page to explore the various SCC databases and their persistent link options.

All our databases can be viewed in this A-Z list

The library's databases are authenticated from off campus using a proxy server. When you/students click the persistent links, a proxy page will force signin using MySolano credentials.

Each database handles persistent links differently; if you need help locating a persistent link, please get in touch with the library. Permalinks are necessary; copying and pasting a URL from your browser's address bar will not work.

Proquest - Document URL (from the abstract/details) tab - video instructions

EBSCOhost - permalinks (right hand menu) - video instructions

Add the persistent link to Canvas the same way you'd add any link. Persistent links are long; for accessibility's sake, it is best to create meaningful (and concise) text and then link to that.

BEST PRACTICE:	Read this article on space exploration by Diana Smith.
NOT SO HOT:	Read this https://ezproxy.solano.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,cpid,uid&custid=s4302453&db=f6h&AN=136726466&site=eds-live

In the rich text editor, type the text you want the student to click on as a link.
Highlight that text
Click the “link to URL” icon
Paste in the persistent link to the box provided and click the "Insert Link" button
Save

Linking to e-books

E-book persistent links allow for linking to sections or chapters of a particular book or to a book in its entirety. Students will be prompted to log in to the database with their MySolano credentials once they click the permalink.

If you can't find what you're looking for, please get in touch with us at scclibrary@solano.edu so we can help. If we can't find a book to suit your needs, we may be able to purchase one.

Below are our three e-book collections. Some of them are easier to search than others, or have different embedding tools and permissions.

e-book central
A digital collection of ebooks in a super-wide range of subject areas. This one is a librarian go-to for fast access to a great collection.
EBSCOhost ebooks
A full-text ebook collection with over 150,000 titles from leading university presses and general interest publishers, in a broad array of subject coverage.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) / Gale e-books
A great place to begin your research process: to narrow your topic, get background information and to gather keywords. Encyclopedias and reference books are not generally used as cited sources in college-level research papers (usually you'll need to take what you find in an encyclopedia and head out to the databases for more advanced sources).
Subject coverage includes: art, biography, business, education, environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.

E-books have slightly different permissions and options than articles (etc) do. When you are linking to an e-book, make sure you note how many concurrent users it allows. Most of our books allow for unlimited concurrent users, but some have restrictions.

book record from ebsco

Note the publisher permissions and concurrent user limits at the bottom of this EBSCOhost book record. Table of Contents (with permalinks) and a permalink to the entire book are present as well.

EBSCOhost ebook permalinks (chapter or book) - video instructions

ProQuest ebook permalinks (chapter or book) - video instructions

Keep in mind that you can link to the entire book or a specific chapter in the book.

Add the persistent link to Canvas the same way you'd add any link. Persistent links are long; for accessibility's sake, it is best to create meaningful (and concise) text and then link to that.

BEST PRACTICE:	Read this chapter, "Launch! (Chapter 5)", from the book The Traveler's Guide to Space : For One-Way Settlers and Round-Trip Tourists
NOT SO HOT:	Read this https://ezproxy.solano.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,cpid,uid&custid=s4302453&db=nlebk&AN=1821401&site=eds-live&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_63

In the rich text editor, type the text you want the student to click on as a link.
Highlight that text
Click the “link to URL” icon
Paste in the persistent link to the box provided and click the "Insert Link" button
Save