Finding Stuff
- Audiobook & eBook Collection (Boundless)
Our newest ebook and audiobook collection! Check books in and out, and download them using the app: https://www.boundless-app.com/ You can also access these books directly via a web browser. - Hoopla
Digital access to movies, music, ebooks, comic books, television, and audiobooks! Solano College library card holders have access through our consortium partner, Napa County Library. Sign up requirements include a SCC library card (a temporary e-card will not work). - O'Reilly Tech Books
This tech and computer science resources provides access to 60,000+ audio and e-book titles, as well as 30,000+ hours of video including presentations from O’Reilly for Higher Education video. Also included are short courses, interactive tutorials, case studies, and more. MySolano credentials are required for using this resource on or off campus. - e-book central
A digital collection of ebooks in a super-wide range of subject areas. This one is a librarian go-to for fast access to a great collection. - Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) / Gale e-books
A great place to begin your research process: to narrow your topic, get background information and to gather keywords. Encyclopedias and reference books are not generally used as cited sources in college-level research papers (usually you'll need to take what you find in an encyclopedia and head out to the databases for more advanced sources). - Britannica
A great starting point for research with balanced, global perspectives and insights on thousands of topics. Access includes full access to Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, a selection of magazine and journal articles from trusted academic publishers, as well as many other research tools.
Looking for a physical book or textbook? If you can't find what you're looking for, please ask a librarian for help.
Search our - Link+
gives you access to materials throughout California and Nevada libraries (academic, public, and special libraries). - Textbooks & Reserve Materials
All our reserve materials (textbooks, calculators, kits [bones/minerals], etcetera) are available for checkout.
Scroll our A-Z list of databases or narrow them down by subject.
- Films on Demand
A streaming video database that covers nearly every academic discipline; among the producers included are National Geographic, HBO, TED, Frontline, PBS, BBC, and more. - JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. ARTstor, an image database full of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, is also housed in JSTOR.
The library also has a streaming film service called SWANK available for students and faculty as well, but the process to view these films is unique. Please email erin.duane@solano.edu with questions.
Looking for a specific publication?
Search here to see if our library has e-copies of a particular magazine or journal. Ex: Time, National Geographic, Journal of the American Medical Association
Black History Month - new reads + classics (on display in the library)
Black Genius
On display in the library, available to check out!
The Black Feminist Reader
On display in the library, available to check out!
Super Black
On display in the library, available to check out!
Race-Ing Justice, en-gendering Power
On display in the library, available to check out!
Where We Stand
On display in the library, available to check out!
James Baldwin: the FBI File
On display in the library, available to check out!
The Autobiography of Malcolm X
On display in the library, available to check out!
Notes of a Native Son
On display in the library, available to check out!
We Were Eight Years in Power
On display in the library, available to check out!
Wounds of Passion
On display in the library, available to check out!
Langston Hughes
On display in the library, available to check out!
Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?
On display in the library, available to check out!
James Baldwin: a Biography
On display in the library, available to check out!
Check It While I Wreck It
On display in the library, available to check out!
A Political Companion to James Baldwin
On display in the library, available to check out!
Black Camelot
On display in the library, available to check out!
Salvation
On display in the library, available to check out!
Erotic Revolutionaries
On display in the library, available to check out!
Invisible Man
On display in the library, available to check out!
By Any Means Necessary
On display in the library, available to check out!
Black Man in a White Coat
On display in the library, available to check out!
Original Gangstas
On display in the library, available to check out!
Represent! Embroidery
Celebrate beautiful YOU! Sew 10 fun projects, from wearable art to wall displays, Embroider 50+ motifs in a full range of shapes, skin tones, and hair textures, Includes small iron-on patterns and an envelope on the inside book cover for storage Book jacket.
Becoming
On display in the library, available to check out!
The South Side
On display in the library, available to check out!
Billie Holiday
On display in the library, available to check out!
African American Healers
On display in the library, available to check out!
Basquiat
On display in the library, available to check out!
Their Eyes Were Watching God
On display in the library, available to check out!
So What
On display in the library, available to check out!
The Collected Autobiographies of Maya Angelou
On display in the library, available to check out!
Death Is Hard Work
On display in the library, available to check out!
Black Poets of the United States
On display in the library, available to check out!
Black Women of the Harlem Renaissance Era
On display in the library, available to check out!
This Bridge Called My Back
On display in the library, available to check out!
Gumbo
On display in the library, available to check out!
Zami: a New Spelling of My Name
On display in the library, available to check out!
The Fire This Time
On display in the library, available to check out!
Stony the Road
On display in the library, available to check out!
Hunger
On display in the library, available to check out!
Living Our Stories, Telling Our Truths
On display in the library, available to check out!
Negroland
On display in the library, available to check out!
Chat With a Librarian
Librarian Chat is available 24/7; you may get assistance from a librarian at a different school & a SCC librarian may follow up via email.
Outside of these hours, e-ref chat is available and will be staffed by non-Solano College librarians. If your question requires a Solano College librarian, please email scclibrary@solano.edu and one of us will respond within 24 hours.
When the chat session ends, you can request that a transcript of the chat be emailed to you.
Need Space to Gather?
Study quietly or with a small group in one of our rooms. Make a reservation up to two weeks in advance here:
Beginning 9/23, study room availability will be 9am-6:30pm.
Usage subject to protocols outlined on our FAQ/Policies page.
(We do have a Quiet Study room available as well; no reservation required!)
Connect & Follow
Connect with us!
Check in, get the latest library news, and share your ideas.
Upcoming Events
Library Card Application
Art in the Library
New Audiobook Collection
- Audiobook & eBook Collection (Boundless)Our newest ebook and audiobook collection! Check books in and out, and download them using the app: https://www.boundless-app.com/ You can also access these books directly via a web browser.
e-Magazines with Flipster
You can search our magazine collection and read directly on your computer, or download the Flipster app to your mobile device and manage your magazine reading there. You will need a library card to use the Flipster app.