Website - About - Policies & FAQs

Please see our textbook and reserves page for full details.

If you have a Solano College or Napa County/Napa Valley College library card, you are already able to check out books and can use your SCC library card at our partner Napa County libraries. To get a new library card, apply online first, and then bring your Student ID number (either your ID card or a copy of your Student Schedule/Bill) to the Circulation Desk so we can replace your temporary ("PACREG") e-card. (Your temporary card will provide remote access to some databases and will allow you to place holds in the library catalog.

Reference librarians are available to help you with any research problem or question you might have about the library and its resources. The Circulation staff are also an excellent source of information and can point you in the right direction. Please contact us with any questions!

If you're used to the public library's organization system (usually the Dewey Decimal Classification System), you may have trouble when trying to navigate in our academic library (which uses the Library of Congress Classification System). The systems are different, but the basic idea is the same: to gather materials of similar topics together for ease of use and organization. If you need help, please ask your librarians!

Most SCC databases and the library's online catalog are available from off-campus locations. You will need your library bar-code number (located on the back of all Solano College and Napa library cards) to place holds on library books and other borrowable materials. The library's article databases (journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, etc) are accessible from off campus with your MySolano username and password.
If you need help accessing library materials, please contact the reference librarian for assistance.

Use the "MY ACCOUNT" link in this site's navigation to access your library card account (via the Library's catalog) for information on:

• Materials you have checked out
• Materials you have placed on hold & are waiting for
• Any fines you may have accrued

Please make sure you logout of your account when you are finished!

Faculty, please use this form to suggest purchases for the library's collection(s).

We have 50 desktop computers upstairs for student use, and 8 computers downstairs (2 of which are Macs) for students needing brief computer access or research assistance with a librarian.

The library has three printer/photocopiers available (one on the ground floor and two upstairs. Please read these instructions to print your job(s). It is important that you follow the posted instructions and select the correct printer for your job.

Check-in Procedure: Everyone using a study room during reservation hours must check in upstairs. Staff will check your student ID and reservation, and unlock the room for you. Please make sure the room is in good/clean condition when you enter; alert staff if it is not.

Check-out Procedure:When your reservation time is up, check out with library staff upstairs. The room will be checked to ensure it is being left in clean condition and to collect supplies (HDMI cords, whiteboard materials, etc) if applicable. Any damages to the room or missing supplies may result in fines and/or removal of reservation privileges.

OTHER TERMS OF USE:

• Reservations are limited to one 2 hour block per reservation.
• Multiple reservations may not be made in a single booking
• 24 hours required between bookings
• Reservations cannot be made by any member of the group beyond the 2 hour maximum per day
• Reservations are canceled if a group doesn’t arrive within 15 minutes of the reservation time
• Reservations may be made up to two weeks in advance
• An adult must be present in the room with children under the age of 12 at all times.
• No meals or open beverage containers are allowed.
• Lights must remain on in the room.
• Gaming is not allowed

Register an account first at http://www.accessnyt.com or on the app. You will need your MySolano username and password credentials to complete this step. Once you have a NYT account, you can visit http://www.nytimes.com directly.
You also have access to the historic New York Times (1851-1980) and its archives (1981-present).

• For articles 1851-1922: free, no limits
• For articles 1923-1980: free, limited to 5 articles daily
• For articles 1981-present: free, no limits

As a student (or faculty/staff member) at SCC, you have access to all the library's subscription (fee-based) databases. These databases provide access to articles, e-books, and other information sources that are often not freely available online. To access these databases, you must go through the library's website.

EZ Proxy is a server that allows you to access the library's subscription (fee-based) databases from anywhere off-campus. You just need to know your MySolano username and password (the same username/password you use to register for classes). Please note the following:

1. EZproxy may time out after several minutes of inactivity, and you will have to re-log in.
2. EZproxy requires cookies. Please set your browser to accept cookies from solano.edu.

Connecting to the library databases with EZ Proxy should be easy. From off campus, when you click on a library database link, you will be asked to log in using your MySolano log in (username/password). After a successful log in, the database will open.

Having trouble logging in?

• When MySolano is down, access to the databases will go down.
• Sometimes you simply need to clear your browser's cookies and search history before you try to log in.
• If you are using a firewall at home, you may need to configure your firewall settings.

WHAT IS IT?
Link+ gives you access to materials throughout California and Nevada libraries (academic, public, and special libraries). See this list of participating libraries. You may request items from any of these libraries, provided it is listed as "available" in the Link+ catalog, and it will be delivered to you at SCC for checkout.
HOW DOES IT WORK?
Items you request usually arrive for you to pick up in 2-4 days. Items will be held for you for pick up between 5-10 days, depending on the type of item you requested. The loan period for books and some media is 21 days with one renewal available. Other media are loaned for 7 days, with no renewals available.
Check the HELP page at Link+ for instructions on requesting and cancelling Link+ items. Search tips are also available. (Or, come ask one of our librarians for help!)
WHAT DOES IT COST?
There is no charge to request or borrow LINK+ materials.

• Late fines: $1/day per item
• Damaged or Missing items: A charge of up to $125 will be applied to your SCC Student Account for any damaged or unreturned LINK+ materials.
• Each item comes screened for damage ahead of time and after return, so please check your items carefully.