Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education, Behavioral Science, and the Social World

Welcome to the Solano College Library's "Education, Behavioral Sciences and the Social World" pathway guide

Academic Search Complete

A leading resource for scholarly research across multiple disciplines; contains journals, periodicals, reports, books, videos, and more.

Sexual Inequalities and Social Justice

This pioneering collection of ten ethnographically rich essays signals the emergence of a new paradigm of social analysis committed to understanding and analyzing social oppression in the context of sexuality and gender. The contributors, an interdisciplinary group of social scientists representing anthropology, sociology, public health, and psychology, illuminate the role of sexuality in producing and reproducing inequality, difference, and structural violence among a range of populations in various geographic, historical, and cultural arenas. In particular, the essays consider racial minorities including Hispanics, Koreans, and African Americans; discuss disabled people; examine issues including substance abuse, sexual coercion, and HIV/AIDS; and delve into other topics including religion and politics. Rather than emphasizing sexuality as an individual trait, the essays view it as a social phenomenon, focusing in particular on cultural meaning and real-world processes of inequality such as racism and homophobia. The authors address the complex and challenging question of how the research under discussion here can make a real contribution to the struggle for social justice.

Everyday Bias

If you are human, you are biased. From this fundamental truth, diversity expert Howard Ross explores the biases we each carry within us. Most people do not see themselves as biased towards people of different races or different genders. And yet in virtually every area of modern life disparities remain. Even in corporate America, which has for the most part embraced the idea of diversity as a mainstream idea, patterns of disparity remain rampant. Why? Breakthroughs in the cognitive and neurosciences give some idea why our results seem inconsistent with our intentions. Bias is natural to the human mind, a survival mechanism that is fundamental to our identity. And overwhelmingly it is unconscious. Incorporating anecdotes from today's headlines alongside case studies from over 30 years as a nationally prominent diversity consultant, Ross help readers understand how unconscious bias impacts our day-to-day lives and particularly our daily work lives. And, he answers the question: "Is there anything we can do about it?" by providing examples of behaviors that the reader can engage in to disengage the impact of their own biases. With an added appendix that includes lessons for handling conflict and bias in the workplace, this book offers an invaluable resource for a broad audience, from individuals seeking to understand and confront their own biases to human resource professionals and business leaders determined to create more bias-conscious organizations in the belief that productivity, personal happiness, and social growth are possible if we first understand the widespread and powerful nature of the biases we don't realize we have.

Handbook of Early Childhood Education

At this time in our nation's history, the establishment of a solid foundation upon which to build a student's educational framework and basic skills is imperative. Teachers, parents, administrators and policy makers are all focusing on test scores, standardised measurement of growth, annual yearly progress and "value added" issues. While education begins in the home, it is the early educational environment in which children are exposed to licensed certified professionals whose charge is to provide students with exposure to the basics and to identify those with developmental needs, and assist in the intervention process. This book provides an overview of the field of early childhood education as well as ancillary issues that permeate the field.

The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Geography

The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Geography aims to account for the intellectual and worldly developments that have taken place in and around political geography in the last 10 years. Bringing together established names in the field as well as new scholars, it highlights provocative theoretical and conceptual debates on political geography from a range of global perspectives. Discusses the latest developments and places increased emphasis on modes of thinking, contested key concepts, and on geopolitics, climate change and terrorism Explores the influence of the practice-based methods in geography and concepts including postcolonialism, feminist geographies, the notion of the Anthropocene, and new understandings of the role of non-human actors in networks of power Offers an accessible introduction to political geography for those in allied fields including political science, international relations, and sociology

PsycARTICLES

Indexed and full-text American Psychological Association (APA) journal articles.

Homicide and Violent Crime

This volume of Sociology of Crime, Law and Deviance addresses a variety of issues and concerns involved with the study of violent crime and homicide in the contemporary world. The chapters are conceived against the background of the enduring nature of violence and killing in the modern age, despite trends towards increased levels of civilization and the protection of rights. Whilst it is clear that the world of today is, in many respects, a better place, violence and homicide remain and even increase from time to time and from place to place. Each chapter tackles key questions of how and why these problematic forms of behaviour continue to exist. Specifically, chapters examine the killing of children, responses to domestic abuse, female killers, incidents of racial and religious violence, the dynamics of violence on college campuses, the role of police and state institutions in relation to violence, and global aspects of violence and murder.  This book will be of interest to scholars and students in criminology, sociology, criminal justice, and public policy.

Social Justice Language Teacher Education

Social justice language teacher education is a response to the acknowledgement that there are social/societal inequities that shape access to learning and educational achievement. In social justice language teacher education, social justice is the driving force and primary organizational device for the teacher education agenda. What does "social justice" mean in diverse global locations? What role does English play in promoting or denying equity? How can teachers come to see themselves as advocates for equal educational access and opportunity? This volume begins by articulating a view of social justice teacher education, followed by language teacher educators from 7 countries offering theorized accounts of their situated practices. Authors discuss powerful components of practice, and the challenges and tensions of doing this work within situated societal and institutional power structures.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

Full text coverage for nearly 400 journals, covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

Gun Control

Australia has a national approach to gun-related violence, however there are more firearms in the community than ever before. This book explores the ongoing debate with a range of opinions on firearms restrictions from both gun control advocates and the gun lobby. Is gun ownership a right or a privilege? Are we going backwards on gun control?

dividerFAIRFIELD CAMPUS
4000 Suisun Valley Road
Fairfield, CA 94534
(707) 864-7000
dividerVACAVILLE CENTER
2001 North Village Parkway
Vacaville, CA 95688
(707) 863-7836
dividerVALLEJO CENTER
545 Columbus Parkway
Vallejo, CA 94591
(707) 642-8188
TRAVIS AIR FORCE BASE
530 Hickam Ave., Bldg. 249
Travis Air Force Base, CA 94535
(707) 424-2431