Skip to main content

Social Justice

Welcome to the Solano College Library research guide for Social Justice

A State-By-State History of Race and Racism in the United States [2 Volumes]

Providing chronologies of important events, historical narratives from the first settlement to the present, and biographies of major figures, this work offers readers an unseen look at the history of racism from the perspective of individual states. * Comprises detailed narratives encompassing the first European contact to the present day of the unique racial history of all 50 states and the District of Columbia * Provides a chronology of important racial events, achievements, and milestones for the states, plus the District of Columbia * Offers biographies of individuals who successfully confronted racism in America and removed obstacles to social achievement * Includes sidebars highlighting interesting events, individuals, and accomplishments relevant to the racial history of particular states

Critical Inquiries for Social Justice in Mental Health

An exceptional showcase of interdisciplinary research, Critical Inquiries for Social Justice in Mental Health presents various critical theories, methodologies, and methods for transforming mental health research and fostering socially-just mental health practices. Marina Morrow and Lorraine Halinka Malcoe have assembled an array of international scholars, activists, and practitioners whose work exposes and disrupts the dominant neoliberal and individualist practices found in contemporary mental research, policy, and practice. The contributors employ a variety of methodologies including intersectional, decolonizing, indigenous, feminist, post-structural, transgender, queer, and critical realist approaches in order to interrogate the manifestation of power relations in mental health systems and its impact on people with mental distress. Additionally, the contributors enable the reader to reimagine systems and supports designed from the bottom up, in which the people most affected have decision-making authority over their formations.

Academic Search Complete

A leading resource for scholarly research across multiple disciplines; contains journals, periodicals, reports, books, videos, and more.

Sexual Inequalities and Social Justice

This pioneering collection of ten ethnographically rich essays signals the emergence of a new paradigm of social analysis committed to understanding and analyzing social oppression in the context of sexuality and gender. The contributors, an interdisciplinary group of social scientists representing anthropology, sociology, public health, and psychology, illuminate the role of sexuality in producing and reproducing inequality, difference, and structural violence among a range of populations in various geographic, historical, and cultural arenas. In particular, the essays consider racial minorities including Hispanics, Koreans, and African Americans; discuss disabled people; examine issues including substance abuse, sexual coercion, and HIV/AIDS; and delve into other topics including religion and politics. Rather than emphasizing sexuality as an individual trait, the essays view it as a social phenomenon, focusing in particular on cultural meaning and real-world processes of inequality such as racism and homophobia. The authors address the complex and challenging question of how the research under discussion here can make a real contribution to the struggle for social justice.

Gender and the Abjection of Blackness

An anti-racist critique of gender studies as a field. This book challenges white readers to rethink their own untroubled identification with gender theory, and it provides all readers with a white feminist theorist's sophisticated theoretical and self-critical scholarly account of her own reckoning with and learning in dialogue from Black feminism's critique.

Intersectionality

A 2017 Choice Outstanding Academic Title Intersectionality intervenes in the field of intersectionality studies: the integrative examination of the effects of racial, gendered, and class power on people's lives. While "intersectionality" circulates as a buzzword, Anna Carastathis joins other critical voices to urge a more careful reading. Challenging the narratives of arrival that surround it, Carastathis argues that intersectionality is a horizon, illuminating ways of thinking that have yet to be realized; consequently, calls to "go beyond" intersectionality are premature. A provisional interpretation of intersectionality can disorient habits of essentialism, categorial purity, and prototypicality and overcome dynamics of segregation and subordination in political movements. Through a close reading of critical race theorist Kimberlé Williams Crenshaw's germinal texts, published more than twenty-five years ago, Carastathis urges analytic clarity, contextual rigor, and a politicized, historicized understanding of this widely traveling concept. Intersectionality's roots in social justice movements and critical intellectual projects--specifically Black feminism--must be retraced and synthesized with a decolonial analysis so its radical potential to actualize coalitions can be enacted.    

Social Justice Language Teacher Education

Social justice language teacher education is a response to the acknowledgement that there are social/societal inequities that shape access to learning and educational achievement. In social justice language teacher education, social justice is the driving force and primary organizational device for the teacher education agenda. What does "social justice" mean in diverse global locations? What role does English play in promoting or denying equity? How can teachers come to see themselves as advocates for equal educational access and opportunity? This volume begins by articulating a view of social justice teacher education, followed by language teacher educators from 7 countries offering theorized accounts of their situated practices. Authors discuss powerful components of practice, and the challenges and tensions of doing this work within situated societal and institutional power structures.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch™ (ENW) is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The complete collection also includes the module Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Race and Ethnicity in America: from Pre-Contact to the Present [4 Volumes]

Divided into four volumes, Race and Ethnicity in America provides a complete overview of the history of racial and ethnic relations in America, from pre-contact to the present. Contextualizes the political experiences and contributions of minorities within American politics, society, and culture Includes people of color (e.g., African Americans, Latinos, Asians, and American Indians), those of mixed races, and ethnic groups that experienced minority status in politics, particularly in the 19th century (e.g., Irish, Jewish, Italian) Features chronological organization as well as a historical overview and timeline for contextual understanding and ease of reference Comprises A-Z entries that detail the political, social, and cultural histories of racial and ethnic minority groups, and concludes with a curated selection of key primary source documents Provides cross-disciplinary information that explores the experiences of racial and ethnic minorities in America over a period of five hundred years through history and social studies, political science, and ethnic studies

Social History of the United States

This ten-volume encyclopedia explores the social history of 20th-century America in rich, authoritative detail, decade by decade, through the eyes of its everyday citizens. * Entries covering the lives and contributions of ordinary citizens, social movements, religion, culture, the arts, economic and labor issues, and other aspects of American life across the 20th century * Contributions by accomplished researchers in the field of American social history * Sidebars providing additional emphasis on important issues and less well-known personalities * Detailed timelines for every decade, incorporating famous events with pivotal moments that changed the lives of everyday citizens * A thematically organized index for each of the encyclopedia's ten volumes

GenderWatch

GenderWatch focuses on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Archival material dating back to 1970 covers the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

Inclusive Practices and Social Justice Leadership for Special Populations in Urban Settings

Inclusive Practices and Social Justice Leadership for Special Populations in Urban Settings: A Moral Imperative is comprised of a collection of chapters written by educators who refuse to let the voices of dissent remain marginalized in our discussion of education in the 21st century education. Drawing from the authors'extensive experience in educational research and practice, coupled with their commitment to inclusion of special populations and social justice they urge readers to examine how educational policies are produced for the least advantaged in our schools. Effective inclusionary practices most certainly benefit all students, including English language learners, those who face gender discrimination, those who are in the foster care system, and those who are Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, or Transgendered. This collection presents a broader theoretical inclusive framework rooted in social justice: which we assert, offers the best practices for a greater number of students who are at risk of minimal academic success. This broader conceptualization of inclusive schools adds to extant discourses about students with exceptional needs and provides effective strategies school leaders operating from a social justice framework can implement to create more inclusive school environments for all students, especially those in urban centers. It is hoped that lessons learned will improve the preparation and practice of school leaders, thus improve educational outcomes for students from special populations.

Gender and Work : Exploring Intersectionality, Resistance, and Identity

he unifying focus of this collection is on the work-related intersections of gender, race, and class, which are investigated through a variety of theoretical and methodological approaches. Some of the essays provide historical and literary contexts for contemporary issues. Others use social-scientific approaches to identify strategies for making the contemporary Western workplace more humane and inclusive to women and other disadvantaged members of society. Advanced undergraduates and graduate students in women's studies, sociology, history, and communication could use this book in courses that address the gendered workplace from an interdisciplinary perspective.

Text Reserves

List of textbooks for this area?

  • one
  • two
  • three
dividerFAIRFIELD CAMPUS
4000 Suisun Valley Road
Fairfield, CA 94534
(707) 864-7000
dividerVACAVILLE CENTER
2001 North Village Parkway
Vacaville, CA 95688
(707) 863-7836
dividerVALLEJO CENTER
545 Columbus Parkway
Vallejo, CA 94591
(707) 642-8188
TRAVIS AIR FORCE BASE
530 Hickam Ave., Bldg. 249
Travis Air Force Base, CA 94535
(707) 424-2431