Social Justice

Divided into four volumes, Race and Ethnicity in America provides a complete overview of the history of racial and ethnic relations in America, from pre-contact to the present. Contextualizes the political experiences and contributions of minorities within American politics, society, and culture Includes people of color (e.g., African Americans, Latinos, Asians, and American Indians), those of mixed races, and ethnic groups that experienced minority status in politics, particularly in the 19th century (e.g., Irish, Jewish, Italian) Features chronological organization as well as a historical overview and timeline for contextual understanding and ease of reference Comprises A-Z entries that detail the political, social, and cultural histories of racial and ethnic minority groups, and concludes with a curated selection of key primary source documents Provides cross-disciplinary information that explores the experiences of racial and ethnic minorities in America over a period of five hundred years through history and social studies, political science, and ethnic studies

This ten-volume encyclopedia explores the social history of 20th-century America in rich, authoritative detail, decade by decade, through the eyes of its everyday citizens. * Entries covering the lives and contributions of ordinary citizens, social movements, religion, culture, the arts, economic and labor issues, and other aspects of American life across the 20th century * Contributions by accomplished researchers in the field of American social history * Sidebars providing additional emphasis on important issues and less well-known personalities * Detailed timelines for every decade, incorporating famous events with pivotal moments that changed the lives of everyday citizens * A thematically organized index for each of the encyclopedia's ten volumes

This single-source reference will help students and general readers alike understand the most critical issues facing American society today. Featuring the work of almost 200 expert contributors, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues comprises four volumes, each devoted to a particular subject area. Volume one covers business and the economy; volume two, criminal justice; volume three, family and society; and volume four, the environment, science, and technology. Coverage within these volumes ranges from biotechnology to identity theft, from racial profiling to corporate governance, from school choice to food safety. The work brings into focus a broad array of key issues confronting American society today. Approximately 225 in-depth entries lay out the controversies debated in the media, on campuses, in government, in boardrooms, and in homes and neighborhoods across the United States. Critical issues in criminology, medicine, religion, commerce, education, the environment, media, family life, and science are all carefully described and examined in a scholarly yet accessible way. Sidebars, photos, charts, and graphs throughout augment the entries, making them even more compelling and informative. * Four volumes divided by subject area * 225 entries written by experienced researchers and professionals who are experts in their fields * Charts and graphs * Comprehensive bibliographies at the end of each topic volume * Sidebars containing interesting and useful tangents to the main discussion * Further reading section at end of each entry, including Internet links