Solano Community College Library: Pre-Nursing: Pre-Nursing Research Tools

Recommended Databases

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, and also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
MEDLINE
Content includes: over 25 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine; citations from over 5,200 worldwide journals in 60 languages; coverage dating back to 1809; some full-text articles.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Full text coverage for nearly 400 journals, covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Science Reference Center
Full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.

Films on Demand
A streaming video database that covers nearly every academic discipline; among the producers included are National Geographic, HBO, TED, Frontline, PBS, BBC, and more.

Prints & Photographs: History of Medicine Sponsored by the NIH - U.S. National Library of Medicine

Library Catalog
Use the library catalog to find printed books, including course reserves aka textbooks, at Solano College and our partner libraries (Napa Public libraries and Napa Valley College).
Link+
gives you access to materials throughout California and Nevada libraries (academic, public, and special libraries).
See the Link+ FAQ info at: https://libguides.solano.edu/faq-policies
You may request items from any of these libraries, provided it is listed as "available" in the Link+ catalog, and it will be delivered to you at SCC for checkout.

Library Card Application
Apply for a library card online! You need this to check out books, chromebooks, and use Hoopla. Make sure you fill out the form completely. A temporary card number will be emailed to you. A permanent card is required for access to Hoopla. Please email scclibrary@solano.edu with questions.

When you're ready to dig deeper into your topic, or just need something good to read:

e-book central
A digital collection of ebooks in a super-wide range of subject areas. This one is a librarian go-to for fast access to a great collection.
EBSCOhost ebooks
A full-text ebook collection with over 150,000 titles from leading university presses and general interest publishers, in a broad array of subject coverage.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) / Gale e-books
A great place to begin your research process: to narrow your topic, get background information and to gather keywords. Encyclopedias and reference books are not generally used as cited sources in college-level research papers (usually you'll need to take what you find in an encyclopedia and head out to the databases for more advanced sources).
Subject coverage includes: art, biography, business, education, environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.

Search almost all of your library's databases at once!

Google your library's databases: Limit Your Results Full Text Peer Reviewed Lost on how to navigate the EBSCOHost databases or OneSearch? Watch this quick video from Seminole State Library on how to use Academic Search Complete, one of the large/general sub-databases within OneSearch.