Skip to main content

Newsletter: Home

Chat With a Librarian

Librarian Chat is available 24/7; you may get assistance from a librarian at a different school & a SCC librarian may follow up via email. 
SCC LIBRARIAN FALL HOURS:
M, T, Th • 8am to 3pm & 4pm to 8pm
W • 8am to 8pm
F, Sat. • 8am-1pm
Sun. • 1pm-6pm
Outside of the above hours, e-ref chat is available and will be staffed by non-Solano College librarians.  If your question requires a Solano College librarian, please email scclibrary@solano.edu and one of us will respond within 24 hours.
When the chat session ends, you can request that a transcript of the chat be emailed to you.

New Books - Just In!

Database Spotlight

Text here about the database

LIbrary Updates

Library Closures:

COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Updates

The Library may be limiting hours due public health concerns over the Covid-19 (coronavirus) outbreak. We are actively expanding our online service components, and encourage students to utilize these services if they are unable to physically visit the library. Check the services listed below to navigate what you are looking to accomplish and how to do so online.  

Online Services:

A Guide to Follow- Here is a webpage with a guide to our online services, some of which are listed below...

Online Chat with a Librarian- The green box on the left side of this page and on the solano.edu/library website. Use this service to speak with a librarian about finding resources for research projects, books to read on various topics or genres, or to ask general information questions.** You can also email the library any questions you may have: scclibrary@solano.edu

**Questions regarding the campus would best be answered by the campus operator @ (707) 864-7000.**

e-Books- If you would like to start searching for electronically available books, visit solano.edu/library, and click on the "books" tab in the center of the screen. There, you can search most our our e-Book collection, or you can follow the icon/links to e-Book specific databases to search those collections.  

Subject Databases- If you would like to start searching for your determined topic, visit solano.edu/library, and click on the "databases" tab in the center of the screen. You can then browse our databases based on subject. Within those databases you can search for academic journal articles, eBooks, newspaper/magazine articles, etc.

Open Educational Resources (OER) ((Free Textbooks))- Some courses offered at Solano use OER textbooks, which are freely available online. If you are interested in finding resources for your classes, these textbooks and materials can be useful even if they are not the assigned textbooks by your instructor. More information and where to go to find these textbooks can be found at https://libguides.solano.edu/OER

 

 

New Building Updates

Construction for the new library building is underway, and completion is estimated for Fall 2021. Look for updates here!

We are excited to announce the new library will include multiple group study rooms, quiet study room, ASTC area, and more!

Ask a librarian for any questions you may have concerning the building. We are excited to talk to students about what is going to possible in the new space!

Collection Development Underway

We are actively selecting new materials to be added to the library's collection in all subject areas. The new building will also be housing our collection, and we are happy to offer the newest and most up-to-date information sources as we can. 

Please contact a librarian through our contact page online, or in person if you have questions about the collection. Thank you! 

Expanding Technology Devices for Checkout

We currently offer all students both Chromebooks and calculators for 7-day loan periods at all three campus locations. This has been an incredibly popular service, and we are anticipating to increase the number of devices we have available to checkout to meet the growing demand. 

We like to recommend students call the library ahead of time to find out if we have devices available, but note that we do not put holds on those devices. 

What would you like MORE of?
Study Space: 0 votes (0%)
Computers and Printers: 0 votes (0%)
Expanded Physical Book Collection: 0 votes (0%)
Expanded Textbook Reserves: 0 votes (0%)
Expanded Chromebook/Calculator Collection: 0 votes (0%)
More Anatomy Models: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0

Resources for California Employees

Photos

General Library Info

dividerFAIRFIELD CAMPUS
4000 Suisun Valley Road
Fairfield, CA 94534
(707) 864-7000
dividerVACAVILLE CENTER
2001 North Village Parkway
Vacaville, CA 95688
(707) 863-7836
dividerVALLEJO CENTER
545 Columbus Parkway
Vallejo, CA 94591
(707) 642-8188
TRAVIS AIR FORCE BASE
530 Hickam Ave., Bldg. 249
Travis Air Force Base, CA 94535
(707) 424-2431