Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History

General History subject guide for students and faculty to explore our resources.

Introduction

Welcome to History! This guide will be a tool for you to navigate some of the important resources you have access to through the Solano College library. Most of these resources are databases, but there are also helpful books, and even some resources you can find through Google searching that aren't too bad either.

Use the navigation bar to visit the different sections of this guide that will be useful to you. 

Welcome to History

Give Me Liberty!

Give Me Liberty! is the #1 book in the U.S. history survey course because it works in the classroom. A single-author text by a leader in the field, Give Me Liberty! delivers an authoritative, accessible, concise, and integrated American history. Updated with powerful new scholarship on borderlands and the West, the Fifth Edition brings new interactive History Skills Tutorials and Norton InQuizitive for History, the award-winning adaptive quizzing tool. The best-selling Seagull Edition is also available in full color for the first time.

American Revolution

A digital archive documenting the revolution and war that created the United States of America, from the Paris peace treaty in 1763 through the early protests in 1785 to the Paris peace treaty of 1783.

America: History and Life with Full Text

This full-text database covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. With hundreds of full-text journals and books, this database is a key reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

A great place to begin your research process: to narrow your topic, get background information and to gather keywords. Encyclopedias and reference books are not generally used as cited sources in college-level research papers (usually you'll need to take what you find in an encyclopedia and head out to the databases for more advanced sources).

Who Owns History?

History has become a matter of public controversy, as Americans clash over such things as museum presentations, the flying of the Confederate flag, and reparations for slavery. So whose history is being written? Who owns it?

Eric Foner answers these and other questions about the historian's relationship to the world of the past and future in this provocative, even controversial, study of the reasons we care about history―or should.

Major Problems in American History, Volume I

Designed to encourage critical thinking about history, the MAJOR PROBLEMS IN AMERICAN HISTORY series introduces you to both primary sources and analytical essays on important topics in U.S. history. This collection serves as the primary anthology for the introductory survey course, covering the subject's entire chronological span. Comprehensive topical coverage includes politics, economics, labor, gender, culture, and social trends. The fourth edition has been revised to reflect two new historiographical trends: the emergence of the history of religion as an exceptionally lively field and the internationalization of American history. Several chapters include images, songs, and poems to give you a better feel; for the time period and events under discussion. Key pedagogical elements of the Major Problems format have been retained: chapter introductions, headnotes, and suggested readings.

Through Women's Eyes

Through Women's Eyes: An American History with Documents was the first text to present a narrative of U.S. women's history within the context of the central developments of the United States and to combine this core narrative with written and visual primary sources in each chapter. The authors' commitment to highlighting the best and most current scholarship, along with their focus on women from a broad range of ethnicities, classes, religions, and regions, has helped students really understand U.S. history Through Women's Eyes. Achieve Read & Practice is now available in dedicated version for this title. Students get the complete accessible, mobile e-book combined with the acclaimed LearningCurve adaptive quizzing--all for just $30 net to the bookstore. Achieve Read & Practice can also be packaged with any bound version of these titles for the price of the book alone--no additional cost.

dividerFAIRFIELD CAMPUS
4000 Suisun Valley Road
Fairfield, CA 94534
(707) 864-7000
dividerVACAVILLE CENTER
2001 North Village Parkway
Vacaville, CA 95688
(707) 863-7836
dividerVALLEJO CENTER
545 Columbus Parkway
Vallejo, CA 94591
(707) 642-8188
TRAVIS AIR FORCE BASE
530 Hickam Ave., Bldg. 249
Travis Air Force Base, CA 94535
(707) 424-2431