Solano Community College Library: Fire Technology: Fire Technology Research Tools

Recommended Research Tools

Academic Search Complete
A leading resource for scholarly research across multiple disciplines; contains journals, periodicals, reports, books, videos, and more.
Environment Complete
This leading full-text database covers the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study.
Vocational Studies Complete
Full-text coverage of the most relevant content for vocational programs.

Films on Demand
A streaming video database that covers nearly every academic discipline; among the producers included are National Geographic, HBO, TED, Frontline, PBS, BBC, and more.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a quick way to search the scholarly literature, but beware of articles that don't have the full text for free! If you find something perfect, you can always search the library databases to see if we have it for you.

New York Times
Register an account first at http://www.accessnyt.com or on the app. You will need your MySolano username and password credentials to complete this step. Once you have a NYT account, you can visit http://www.nytimes.com directly.

You also have access to the historic New York Times (1851-1980) and its archives (1981-present).

For articles 1851-1922: free, no limits
For articles 1923-1980: free, limited to 5 articles daily
For articles 1981-present: free, no limits
ProQuest news
Journals, magazines, and (mostly) newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites
from these three databases: Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, and Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
Newsbank: Access World News
Find current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more with the world's largest collection of full-text news sources. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) / Gale e-books
A great place to begin your research process: to narrow your topic, get background information and to gather keywords. Encyclopedias and reference books are not generally used as cited sources in college-level research papers (usually you'll need to take what you find in an encyclopedia and head out to the databases for more advanced sources).
Subject coverage includes: art, biography, business, education, environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.
e-book central
A digital collection of ebooks in a super-wide range of subject areas. This one is a librarian go-to for fast access to a great collection.
EBSCOhost ebooks
A full-text ebook collection with over 150,000 titles from leading university presses and general interest publishers, in a broad array of subject coverage.

Search almost all of your library's databases at once!

Google your library's databases: Limit Your Results Full Text Peer Reviewed Lost on how to navigate the EBSCOHost databases or OneSearch? Watch this quick video from Seminole State Library on how to use Academic Search Complete, one of the large/general sub-databases within OneSearch.