Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Sign Language (ASL)

Librarian recommended resources for you to use in your asl research.

Welcome to the Solano College Library research guide for American Sign Language (ASL)

Academic Search Complete

A leading resource for scholarly research across multiple disciplines; contains journals, periodicals, reports, books, videos, and more.

ASL - American Sign Language

Includes photo examples of often-used words and phrases to illustrate concepts of action and/or movement that make communication clear while adding emotional emphasis that always makes for good conversation. 

A Historical and Etymological Dictionary of American Sign Language

This book is the first to collect all known texts featuring illustrations of early ASL and historical images of French Sign Language--langue des signes française (LSF)--and link them with contemporary signs.      

Form, Meaning, and Focus in American Sign Language

Form, Meaning, and Focus in American Sign Language considers how ASL expresses non-agent focus, similar to the meaning of passive voice in English.        

In Our Hands

In Our Hands: Educating Healthcare Interpreters addresses these concerns by delineating the best practices for preparing interpreters to facilitate full access for deaf people in healthcare settings.       

ProQuest

Includes access to the following seven databases:
Coronavirus Research Database
Criminal Justice Database
e-book Central
Ethnic Newswatch
Gender Newswatch
Los Angeles Times (1881-current)

Accessing Resources from Off-Campus

The library's databases (journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, films, images, etc.) are accessible from off campus with your MySolano username and password using our built in proxy server

About the ASL guide

Hand using American Sign Language (ASL)Welcome to the American Sign Language (ASL) guide for the Solano Community College Library.   This guide contains information and links to databases, websites, and eBooks relevant to ASL.    We also provide information on citing in APA and MLA format and how to get help from a SCC Librarian.

 

dividerFAIRFIELD CAMPUS
4000 Suisun Valley Road
Fairfield, CA 94534
(707) 864-7000
dividerVACAVILLE CENTER
2001 North Village Parkway
Vacaville, CA 95688
(707) 863-7836
dividerVALLEJO CENTER
545 Columbus Parkway
Vallejo, CA 94591
(707) 642-8188
TRAVIS AIR FORCE BASE
530 Hickam Ave., Bldg. 249
Travis Air Force Base, CA 94535
(707) 424-2431