Solano Community College Library: Dramatic Arts: Recommended Databases

Recommended Databases

There are many different databases where you can find information about an author, such as the Literary Reference Center, places where you can look up academic articles, such as JSTOR and Academic Search Complete, and even general databases where you can look up themes that you might encounter, such as the Gale Virtual Reference Library. When you are conducting research, start with some general background on the playwright, lyricist, composer, etc. and then consider consulting an academic source if you are asked to write a paper. If you are looking for video clips of performances, try using the Films on Demand database. If you need further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact one of our wonderful librarians.

Academic Search Complete
A leading resource for scholarly research across multiple disciplines; contains journals, periodicals, reports, books, videos, and more.
Audiobook Collection (EBSCOhost)
A small collection of recent fiction, including young adult fiction, in audio format.
e-book central
A digital collection of ebooks in a super-wide range of subject areas. This one is a librarian go-to for fast access to a great collection.
EBSCOhost ebooks
A full-text ebook collection with over 150,000 titles from leading university presses and general interest publishers, in a broad array of subject coverage.
Films on Demand
A streaming video database that covers nearly every academic discipline; among the producers included are National Geographic, HBO, TED, Frontline, PBS, BBC, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) / Gale e-books
A great place to begin your research process: to narrow your topic, get background information and to gather keywords. Encyclopedias and reference books are not generally used as cited sources in college-level research papers (usually you'll need to take what you find in an encyclopedia and head out to the databases for more advanced sources).
Subject coverage includes: art, biography, business, education, environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.
Literary Reference Center
An expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and full-text essays from leading publishers. Includes literary reference books and monographs, full text for literary magazines and book reviews, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews and much more.
Literature & Literary Sources (Gale)
Gale Literary Sources brings together SCC's Gale literary databases and focuses on background information such as author biographies, topic and work overviews, and book chapters.
MasterFILE Complete
Designed specifically for public libraries,MasterFILE Premier provides full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
MLA - Modern Languages Association International Bibliography
Covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global literatures and languages. Coverage includes materials published in more than 100 countries and in more than 50 languages, in the areas of literatures and languages from around the world