Open Educational Resources and Textbook Affordability for Faculty

Strongest in the physical sciences, LibreTexts gathers OER materials from across the web, and congregates them into one site broken down by discipline. They offer open resources and a platform for remixing, curation and publishing of your own.

High-quality, peer-reviewed open textbooks and ancillary learning materials. Books are available in a low-cost printed format as well. A project of Rice University.

Browse materials created under the Affordable Learning Georgia grants, by discipline.

OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources for K-12 and higher education. You can find, remix and create OER on OER Commons .

The organization responsible for the Creative Commons licenses most OER use. Learn more about the licenses and open initiatives world-wide, and search for CC-licensed images.

Wide variety of open textbooks from the British Columbia Campus, a consortium of Canadian institutions of higher education.

Provides links to OER Repositories, Open Textbooks & Journals, Digital Media, and more. CCCOER also provides a rich source of information and networking opportunities.

CCC, CSU and UC combine to offer information and community around OER.

A limited collection of open texts for accounting, business math, economics, and math. Texts are free to students; fee-based editorial services are available for faculty.

Online textbooks including open-licensed electronic versions of print books, self-published online books, and thorough course notes which can serve as a textbook.

MERLOT (Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) provides curated online learning, support materials and content creation tools.

A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs. A project of the Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges and the Gates Foundation.

The Open Education Consortium (OEC) is a non-profit, global, members-based network of open education institutions and organizations.

Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published. Digitized fiction and nonfiction e-books are available for checkout, sometimes with a waitlist.

Browsable / searchable list of OER used by Oregon college and university instructors. If you see a name and email address, you can contact that person about their class.

OST offers peer-reviewed open texts that can be immediately adopted and easily customized via the SUNY OER Services editing platform.

Student-run site dedicated to increasing instructors' use of free educational materials; includes links and reviews.

An open-content textbooks collection.

OER leader Dr. Larry Green's list of OER used by faculty at different colleges, pulled from years of the Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources listserve and organized by discipline.

San Bernardino Valley College's list of OER, organized by discipline.

The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide lists OER by discipline and is updated regularly. Textbooks in the BC Open Textbook Collection are not included.

Browse materials created under the Affordable Learning Georgia grants, by discipline.

List of open and open-ish textbooks approved by the AIM, with details about format, licenses and source availability.