Solano Community College Library: MLA 9th Edition: Citing Books (Print or eBooks)

Citing Books (EBOOKS OR PRINT)

Types of Books

What type of book you use and what part of the book you use will determine which template you use to cite it. There are three major types of books: physical books, electronic library books, and books from the Internet.

How do you tell the difference?

Physical Books - If you physically have a book in your hands, it is considered a PRINT book and you use the Print Book Template.
Electronic Library Books - If you went to the library website and found a book that you read online, it is an electronic library book and you use the Electronic Library Book Template.
Books From the Internet - If you searched on the open Internet (such as Google) and located your book without the use of a library database, then this is a book from the Internet and you would use the Electronic Book from the Internet Template {See Citing Internet Resources (not from Library Databases) further down}.

Examples

Entire Book

PRINT BOOK	ELECTRONIC SCC LIBRARY BOOK
TEMPLATE Author last name, first name. Book Title: With Subtitle if Present. Publisher Name, Year.	TEMPLATE Author last name, first name. Book Title: With Subtitle if Present. Publisher Name, Year. Database Name, www.resourceURL.com.
EXAMPLE Mushanga, Tibamanya Mwene. Crime and Deviance: An Introduction to Criminology. Law Africa, 2011.	EXAMPLE Mushanga, Tibamanya Mwene. Crime and Deviance: An Introduction to Criminology. Law Africa, 2011. EBSCOhost eBook Collection, www.search.ebscohost.com/ssid45603%xx56.

PRINT BOOK

ELECTRONIC SCC LIBRARY BOOK

TEMPLATE

Author last name, first name. Book Title: With Subtitle if Present. Publisher Name, Year.

TEMPLATE

Author last name, first name. Book Title: With Subtitle if Present. Publisher Name, Year. Database Name, www.resourceURL.com.

EXAMPLE

Mushanga, Tibamanya Mwene. Crime and Deviance: An Introduction to Criminology. Law Africa, 2011.

EXAMPLE

Mushanga, Tibamanya Mwene. Crime and Deviance: An Introduction to Criminology. Law Africa, 2011. EBSCOhost eBook Collection, www.search.ebscohost.com/ssid45603%xx56.

Book Chapter

PRINT BOOK	ELECTRONIC SCC LIBRARY BOOK
TEMPLATE Last name, first name. “Chapter Title.” Book Title: With Subtitle if Present, Publisher Name, Year, pp. #-#.	TEMPLATE Last name, First name. “Chapter Title.” Book Title: With Subtitle if Present, Publisher Name, Year, pp. #-# (if present). Database Name, www.resourceURL.com.
EXAMPLE Mushanga, Tibamanya Mwene. “Political Crimes.” Crime and Deviance: An Introduction to Criminology, Law Africa, 2011, pp. 27-35.	EXAMPLE Mushanga, Tibamanya Mwene. “Political Crimes.” Crime and Deviance: An Introduction to Criminology, Law Africa, 2011, pp. 27-35. EBSCOhost eBook Collection, www.search. ebscohost.com/ssid45603%xx4

PRINT BOOK

ELECTRONIC SCC LIBRARY BOOK

TEMPLATE

Last name, first name. “Chapter Title.” Book Title: With Subtitle if Present, Publisher Name, Year, pp. #-#.

TEMPLATE

Last name, First name. “Chapter Title.” Book Title: With Subtitle if Present, Publisher Name, Year, pp. #-# (if present). Database Name, www.resourceURL.com.

EXAMPLE

Mushanga, Tibamanya Mwene. “Political Crimes.” Crime and Deviance: An Introduction to Criminology, Law Africa, 2011, pp. 27-35.

EXAMPLE

Mushanga, Tibamanya Mwene. “Political Crimes.” Crime and Deviance: An Introduction to Criminology, Law Africa, 2011, pp. 27-35. EBSCOhost eBook Collection, www.search. ebscohost.com/ssid45603%xx4

Edited Book

PRINT BOOK	ELECTRONIC SCC LIBRARY BOOK
TEMPLATE Editor last name, first name, editor. Book Title: With Subtitle if Present. Publisher Name, Year.	TEMPLATE Editor last name, first name, editor. Book Title: With Subtitle if Present. Publisher Name, Year. Database Name, www.resourceURL.com.
EXAMPLE Calhoun, Craig, editor. Sociology in America: A History. U of Chicago P, 2008.	EXAMPLE Calhoun, Craig, editor. Sociology in America: A History. U of Chicago P, 2008. ProQuest eBookCentral, www.ebookcentral.com/doi87w8w

PRINT BOOK

ELECTRONIC SCC LIBRARY BOOK

TEMPLATE

Editor last name, first name, editor. Book Title: With Subtitle if Present. Publisher Name, Year.

TEMPLATE

Editor last name, first name, editor. Book Title: With Subtitle if Present. Publisher Name, Year. Database Name, www.resourceURL.com.

EXAMPLE

Calhoun, Craig, editor. Sociology in America: A History. U of Chicago P, 2008.

EXAMPLE

Calhoun, Craig, editor. Sociology in America: A History. U of Chicago P, 2008. ProQuest eBookCentral, www.ebookcentral.com/doi87w8w

Anthology Section in an Edited Book

PRINT BOOK	ELECTRONIC SCC LIBRARY BOOK
TEMPLATE Author Last name, first name. “Chapter Title.” Book Title: With Subtitle if Present, edited by Editor’s Name, Publisher Name, Year, pp. #-#.	TEMPLATE Author Last name, first name. “Chapter Title.” Book Title: With Subtitle if Present, edited by Editor’s Name, Publisher Name, Year, pp. #-#. Database Name, www.resourceURL.com.
EXAMPLE DeVault, Marjorie L. “Knowledge from the Field.” Sociology in America: A History, edited by Craig Calhoun. U of Chicago P, 2008, pp. 155-82.	EXAMPLE DeVault, Marjorie L. “Knowledge from the Field.” Sociology in America: A History, edited by Craig Calhoun. U of Chicago P, 2008, pp. 155-82. ProQuest eBookCentral, www.ebookcentral.com/lib/solano/detail.action?docID=102659.

PRINT BOOK

ELECTRONIC SCC LIBRARY BOOK

TEMPLATE

Author Last name, first name. “Chapter Title.” Book Title: With Subtitle if Present, edited by Editor’s Name, Publisher Name, Year, pp. #-#.

TEMPLATE

Author Last name, first name. “Chapter Title.” Book Title: With Subtitle if Present, edited by Editor’s Name, Publisher Name, Year, pp. #-#. Database Name, www.resourceURL.com.

EXAMPLE

DeVault, Marjorie L. “Knowledge from the Field.” Sociology in America: A History, edited by Craig Calhoun. U of Chicago P, 2008, pp. 155-82.

EXAMPLE

DeVault, Marjorie L. “Knowledge from the Field.” Sociology in America: A History, edited by Craig Calhoun. U of Chicago P, 2008, pp. 155-82. ProQuest eBookCentral, www.ebookcentral.com/lib/solano/detail.action?docID=102659.